Maintaining Natural Hair & Autoimmune Diseases

I started my natural hair journey (last relaxer) in July 2009 and big chopped (cut off relaxed ends) in April 2010. I wanted to see what my hair would do without chemicals. To my surprise it flourished! It grew in thicker and stronger. As a child my mother didn’t know what to do with my hair. It was thicker and a lot shorter than her and my sister’s. To make “our” lives easier she kept my hair either in a Jerry curl or relaxer. Both provided temporary solutions. Initially both performed positively. Once the grew out, my hair would break off/fall out. So, at the age of 36, with a little help from Chris Rock’s movie Good Hair and my then 15 year old daughter, I decided to “go natural.”  I loved playing in and styling my natural hair. Sometimes, it would take me over 9 hours to wash, condition, and style my hair. I didn’t mind. I found the process to be very calming. Of course that was before I started getting sick.

 

 

Don’t get me wrong, I STILL LOVE MY NATURAL HAIR! However, these days the process of maintaining it is more stressful and painful, than calming. Today I style my hair based on practicality, not for flair. Maintaining my hair leaves by hands, wrists, elbows, and neck swollen and stiff with burning pains. Hopefully wearing headwraps will lessen the time I spend on hair. Wish me luck! 

Leave a Reply

